top of page

Prego @ Fairmont Singapore

So.. there was no school last Wed because of the Student Councillor's Commendation Ceremony at the St. Andrew's Cathedral.

So.. it was a good chance to have a good lunch and do a little window shopping. :)

I walked around for a while, deciding on what to eat. I finally decided on Prego at Fairmont Hotel.

I love to indulge in eating, especially when i'm eating alone.

LUNCH was good. Service was good.

So, right when you sit down, a bread basket, or rather, a box, gets placed on your table.

I love this bread box. I could just have this for lunch. There were 2 slices of white crusty bread and 2 slices of really flavorful foccacia. There are the obligatory olive oil and balsamic vinegar on the table but what really steals the show is that little pot of soft cheese with olive tapanade. YUM! I really enjoyed the breads and that cheese..... it just reminded me of this container of really delicious soft cheese we always bought when we went to the Hunter Valley in Sydney. If they had a bakery, i would clear the shelves! :)

For my mains, i always like to try a creamy carbonara as a bench mark, and this one hit the mark.

It wasn't cheap that's for sure, it was SGD$32 but the portion size was generous (i couldn't finish and packed part of it home for dinner) and it was delicious. Was not overly creamy - and the cream was infused with a really good smoky flavour from the bacon, which wasn't too salty. The pasta was also perfectly al dente.

To end off my meal for one, i chose a panna cotta. While it was good, i found the portion size a little too big as a delicate dessert. More of the berries and berry sauce could also be given cause of the sheer size of the panna cotta. There were some little jelly bits of basil that while it went ok together, i wasn't crazy about it. I'd rather have a lot more berry-ness.

Overall, i enjoyed my lunch for one and i will definitely be back - but i'll choose a different dessert.

Oh! and to my delight, i didn't realize there was a 30% discount for OCBC credit cards. So YAY!

Can't wait for my next meal for one!

bottom of page